RSS

THE ENLIGHTENMENT – AND WHY IT STILL MATTERS

24 Apr
THE ENLIGHTENMENT – AND WHY IT STILL MATTERS

Pandaemonium

pagden enlightenment

‘If I knew something useful to me, and harmful to my family, I would reject it from my mind’, the French Enlightenment philosophe Montesquieu famously  wrote. ‘If I knew something useful to my family and not to my country, I would try to forget it. If I knew something useful to my country, and harmful to Europe, or useful to Europe and harmful to Mankind, I would look upon it as a crime’.

Montesquieu’s sentiment expresses, for Anthony Pagden, the essence of the Enlightenment. In the belief that all humans ‘share a common identity and thus belong ultimately to a single global community – a “cosmopolis”’ lies, he suggests, the Enlightenment’s greatest legacy. The Enlightenment – And Why It Matters is both a history of the period and an argument for the importance of the cosmopolitan ideal.

There is no period of history that has been more analysed, debated, celebrated and disparaged…

View original post 1,376 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 24, 2015 in General News

 

Leave a Reply

 
