RSS

Here Is One Thing We Can Do to Control the Spread of Ebola

16 Aug
Here Is One Thing We Can Do to Control the Spread of Ebola

TIME

Growing up in the village of Konjo in the Eastern Province of Sierra Leone, I remember the walks. After waking up to the crowing of hens, I’d take long, cold morning walks to the farms to chase away birds from our little crops and work for as many as 12 hours. I’d walk barefoot to and from school. I’d carry our chickens in a cage with a rope tied to it and hung around my head so that the cage rests on my back while my head held the weight.

I didn’t mind growing up this way, for I didn’t mind work and did not know what I did not have. But I hated having to make these walks barefoot because we could not afford shoes. The injuries were too much. I sustained burns from the hot ground and rocks; wounds from sharp stones, thorns, and even broken bottles; infections…

View original post 743 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 16, 2014 in General News

 

Leave a Reply

 
