RSS

New Paper Accepted for Publication: Mindfulness-Oriented Recovery Enhancement Reduces Pain Attentional Bias in Chronic Pain Patients

24 Mar

Eric L. Garland, Ph.D.

My colleague Matthew Howard and I recently had a paper accepted for publication in the internationally-recognized journal, Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics. This paper describes a subset of findings from a randomized controlled trial (RCT) of Mindfulness-Oriented Recovery Enhancement for chronic pain patients who have been prescribed long-term opioid treatment (e.g., oxycontin, vicodin) for pain management. The study is the first in the scientific literature to demonstrate that a mindfulness-oriented intervention can reduce the pain attentional bias. In this study, 67 individuals suffering from low back pain, neck pain, arthritis, fibromyalgia, and other pain conditions were randomly assigned to participate in MORE or a support group and began treatment.

Participants in the MORE group received instruction in applying mindfulness and other psychological techniques to: discriminate between nociception (i.e., the signal that the body is being damaged), pain, and suffering; become aware of their automatic pain coping habits; disrupt the link between…

View original post 450 more words

 
16 Comments

Posted by on March 24, 2014 in General News

 

16 responses to “New Paper Accepted for Publication: Mindfulness-Oriented Recovery Enhancement Reduces Pain Attentional Bias in Chronic Pain Patients

  1. http://noctaviamae.soup.io/

    May 5, 2014 at 3:26 am

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to death aat woek so I decided
    to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break.
    I really like the knowledge you prewsent here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.

    I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, fantastic blog!

    Like

     
    • mahustlerszone

      May 5, 2014 at 8:21 am

      I really appreciate the commendation. I have tried to keep it simple and easy to navigate/browse.
      Keep it MahustlersZone to be informed

      Like

       
  2. Mon cahier d'écriture pour apprendre à écrire pas à pas avec Téo et Nina

    May 7, 2014 at 2:45 pm

    Hello! Would yyou mind iff I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content.
    Please let me know. Many thanks

    Like

     
    • mahustlerszone

      May 7, 2014 at 2:51 pm

      Hi there,

      Its okay with me, go on and share.
      Thanks for asking

      Like

       
  3. telecharger livres

    May 28, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    Unquestionably consider that which you said. Your favourite justification seemed to be on the internet the easiest
    thing to keep in mind of. I say to you, I certainly get
    irked even as people think about concerns that they just do not
    realize about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and outlined out the whole thing
    with no need side-effects , people could take a signal. Will probably be again to get more.

    Thank you

    Like

     
  4. Petites comptines de la ferme pdf

    June 18, 2014 at 5:46 am

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your
    weblog and in accession capital to assert that I get
    actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

    Like

     
  5. @

    July 1, 2014 at 3:57 pm

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly
    enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope
    you write again very soon!

    Like

     
  6. @

    July 1, 2014 at 9:32 pm

    Hi, I read your blogs like every week. Your humoristic style
    is witty, keep doing what you’re doing!

    Like

     
    • mahustlerszone

      July 10, 2014 at 6:24 am

      Thanks A lot, kindly keep it MahustlersZone to be informed

      Like

       
  7. @

    July 6, 2014 at 11:29 am

    Greetings I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was searching on Google for something
    else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks
    a lot for a fantastic post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the
    moment but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read more, Please do keep up the fantastic b.

    Like

     
    • mahustlerszone

      July 23, 2014 at 7:56 am

      Thanks, keep it Mahustlerszone for more informative articles

      Like

       
  8. http://qkellenbaby.soup.io

    July 21, 2014 at 2:36 am

    Hello! I just wish to offer you a huge thumbs up for the excellent info you have here on this post.

    I will be returning to your web site for more soon.

    Like

     
    • mahustlerszone

      July 23, 2014 at 8:20 am

      Thanks, keep it Mahustlerszone for more informative articles

      Like

       
  9. cheap loui vuitton bags

    January 30, 2015 at 12:30 pm

    nice articles

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
